Uncategorized

Downtown Phoenix businesses move ‘forward’ as more mega events loom

Businesses in downtown Phoenix saw explosive numbers during Super Bowl week. It was just the beginning for the newly crowned sports hub that will host the College Football Playoff National Championship Game in January and the Men’s Final Four in 2017.

Cronkite News: Late Lunch Update

Lawmakers balk at White House reuniting Central American families

WASHINGTON - An Obama administration program that reunites Central American children with parents who have immigrated to the U.S. faced sharp questioning Thursday from senators, who worried that it would further dilute immigration standards.

Cactus League reflects on this season’s record success

Word of the Cactus League is getting out. Spring training in Arizona posted its highest attendance in history at 1.89 million, topping the previous record of 1.73 million set in 2013. Spring training across Major League Baseball topped 4 million, setting a record by more than 200,000 fans.

Arizona exports topped $21 billion in 2014; nation set fifth record

[caption id="attachment_592" align="aligncenter" width="800"]Arizona businesses exported $21.1 billion worth of goods in 2014, and the vast majority came from small business like JWB Manufacturing, a machine shop in Tempe. Photo by Jamie Killian. Arizona businesses exported $21.1 billion worth of goods in 2014, and the vast majority came from small business like JWB Manufacturing, a machine shop in Tempe. Photo by Jamie Killian.[/caption]

Arizona businesses raked in $21.1 billion from exports last year – money that supported 93,354 jobs in the state, according to a report released Thursday by the Obama administration.

Cronkite News contacts

News and business desks: 602.496.5050 or cronkitenews@asu.edu
Sports and digital desks: 602.496.5020 or newsroom@asu.edu
Washington, D.C., newsroom: 202.684.2400 or cronkitedc@asu.edu
Kevin Dale, executive editor: 602.496.5168 or kdale@me.com
Mark Lodato, assistant dean and broadcast news director: 602.496.9415 or mark.lodato@asu.edu
Melanie Alvarez, Cronkite News television assistant news director and executive producer: 602.496.5294 or melanie.alvarez@asu.edu
Steve Crane, director of Cronkite News Washington, D.C., bureau: 202.684.2398 or steve.crane@asu.edu
Heather Dunn, Cronkite News television content director, 602.496.5291 or heather.dunn.1@asu.edu
Steve Elliott, editor of Cronkite News and director of Phoenix digital bureau: 602.496.0686 or steve.elliott@asu.edu
Tom Feuer, director of Cronkite News sports bureau, Los Angeles: 424.238.0272 or thomas.feuer@asu.edu
Jim Jacoby, Cronkite News television production manager: 602.496.7313 or jim.jacoby@asu.edu
Brett Kurland, director of Cronkite News sports bureau, Phoenix: 602.496.5134 or brett.kurland@asu.edu
Christina Leonard, director of Cronkite News business bureau: 602-361-5893 or christina.leonard@asu.edu
Mike Reilley, director of Cronkite News digital production bureau: 602.496.0687 or michael.reilley@asu.edu

Mailing address:
Cronkite News
555 N. Central Ave., Suite 302
Phoenix, AZ 85004-1248

Washington bureau:
Cronkite News Service
1834 Connecticut Ave. NW
Washington, D.C., 20009